Do Not Make Excuses

Let’s talk about art. Fine art photography to be exact.

To be honest, I don’t quite understand the meaning of art. Some people say that art is this or that. There are several interpretations and opinions on this terminology. Some are even conflicting. Well maybe it does not mean anything in particular and people are just naturally argumentative.

I do know what I like in fine art photography and I do have my own (strong) opinion on what is good art. Examples of the type of photos that I truly appreciate are those that you find in http://1x.com. I could literally spend the whole day just looking at the fantastic shots on that website. I admire the likes of Ansel Adams and Henri Cartier-Bresson as well as the modern photographers Ken Duncan and Peter Lik. I have contacts in Flickr and close friends who are very very good photographers.

What do I like about their photographs? It’s quite difficult to explain. I could start discussing about the techniques of composition that they use, the mood, the colors, the contrast. The problem with such kind of an explanation is that I am using the components of art to explain art which is a bit of a circular argument. It is the kind of explanation that can be easily refuted by silly arguments such as “does that mean that a crappy photograph captured by a monkey isn’t art?”.

So let me try to explain good art by using something that everyone can appreciate. Good art requires EFFORT.

It is very easy to make bad photos. Anyone can do it. But it takes a tremendous amount of time and effort to create a pulitzer.

Anyone can sing, in tune or otherwise, but it takes effort to be like Frank Sinatra.

A lot of people laughed at the Gursky photograph that sold for $4.2M because they think that any mortal could have captured it. The reason it sold for that much was because of the name behind the photograph. It took time and tremendous effort for Gursky to make a name for himself. Because of his name, critics will also make an effort to explain why the photograph works instead of dismissing it as something very ordinary. If I had captured that shot, people would still probably buy it just for the frame if the price is right. See the difference?

Some “photographers” say that my art is too rigid. That I follow rules too strictly or that I am too dogmatic. Well they are right. There is a reason for that. I have set my own goals in photography. I would like to become the next Ken Duncan or Ansel Adams. It takes enormous TIME and EFFORT to get there yet there is no guarantee of success. I am just starting out. I still have a very long way to go.

Consider yourself for a moment. What do you hope to achieve? The fact that you are reading my blog probably means that you should try your best to follow the basic rules of photography before breaking them.

Anyone can make bad photographs. I have been there and I still continue to make bad shots intentionally or unknowingly. I am not an expert. Far from it. But I do make an effort to make pleasing photographs.

Just because art is a word that has no concrete definition does not give you an excuse to make bad photos. A bad photo is a bad photo. Call it art if you like but I have much bigger dreams and will not tolerate your quest for mediocrity.

Leave a Reply

