LOMObilography

LOMObilography, simply put, is lomography using mobile phones. I did a google search for this “word” and it returned only two results (as of 20100131) so it looks like this idea isn’t very common yet. It’s not unknown though and a quick search on Flickr would give you hundreds of retro-looking photos that were taken with mobile phones.

This photography style is based on the popular lomography technique which started with a cheap Russian camera that produced oversaturated photos with terrible vignetting. For references, please visit the wikipedia page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lomography, and the commercial website: http://lomography.com/.

Lomography is commonly achieved by using cheap/toy film cameras. The effect can also be achieved with digital cameras plus a bit of post processing and/or plug-ins, but some fanatics consider this as faking and therefore unacceptable.

For me, lomography has three essential components: 1) the camera and film; 2) the effect; but most importantly, 3) the fun factor.

If I can achieve something similar even if I had to bypass one aspect of the technique then I think it is worthwhile doing. Cheap analog cameras can be easily replaced with mobile phones with built-in cameras. The idea here is “cheap camera”. A mobile phone can do it. The lomo effect can be achieved using free photo editing software such as GIMP (http://www.gimp.org). The fun factor is up to you.

The best camera is the one that is with you. My mobile phone is always with me so I think that part is already covered. I got apps that help me achieve this retro effect from within my phone so I got that covered as well. I wouldn’t have started this if it ain’t fun so let’s get the ball rolling.

Leave a Reply

